Crises Precipitate Change

A convergence of events (cold weather-induced laziness, denial that Costco-sized containers of anything will ever run out) has left me with none of my essential cooking staples this week – butter and olive oil.

But when life gives you alternative cooking ingredients, make alternative-ingredient-based baked goods! I happened to have some coconut butter on hand from a previous hair care experiment, so I decided to do a little substitution. I usually view baking as a fine science and follow the methods of a recipe exactly, so this is my version of letting loose.

The results:

20130127-120123.jpg

Delicious!

Update: since at least one person wanted to know, the original recipe is from Anna Olson’s Back to Baking.  I think it’s called “Peanut Butter Blondies.”

